The Book of Chameleons

I would have never guessed that this week I’d end up reading a book that’s narrated by a gecko. But I will say it didn’t disappoint.

The Book of Chameleons engaged me within the first pages. The descriptions and imagery were intricate and beautiful. I think I would love to live in Félix’s house from what is described. I absolutely love that there is an avocado and papaya trees in the backyard and the descriptions of the garden and library sound so nice.

Félix’s job is to sell pasts to people in the form of forging documents and crafting family trees. This type of service is reserved for the upper class, the bourgeoisie. This concept is so creative and fascinating to me. I never really thought about how your past can or can’t give you some type of power and prestige. Having a well known, noble and culturally significant name can do a lot for success. I think this proves that family heritage and your past helps people go far just as much as your current achievements. I think having a prestigious name makes people trustworthy and also protected from the law especially if the person’s occupation is illegal.

The part that confused me was the purpose of having a reincarnated gecko as the narrator. I thought it was unique but I can’t seen to grasp the deeper meaning of that choice. Maybe there isn’t supposed to be a deeper meaning and it’s just to add some playfulness. What I did think had a purpose was how the gecko’s human life has some intricacy to it. He talks about how he wish he would have found love and how he wish he had a better childhood. I thought this was kind of reflection and regret of past life similar was to the story of The Shrouded Woman where Ana María reflected on her life as she was in a somewhat of a purgatory.

An interesting theme in this book was reality and dreams. Multiple chapters were about the dreams of the gecko who is the narrator. A lot of them were reflections of the human life that the gecko used to have. Some of them made me a bit sad because they showed that the life he used to have wasn’t all that fulfilling. The first one he talks about how no one noticed or talked to him when he was human. There seemed to be blur between dreams and reality in this novel. “My dreams are almost always more lifelike than reality” (p. 46). This blur between reality and dreamlike state reminded me of a lot Proust. Even Félix argues that his line of work isn’t about forging but it’s about creating dreams for people.

“I don’t do things like that. I invent
dreams for people, I’m not a forger” (p. 17).

Question: My question for discussion is how do you interpret the quote stated above? Do you think this is really true about Félix’s work?


Comments

2 responses to “The Book of Chameleons”

  1. “I would have never guessed that this week I’d end up reading a book that’s narrated by a gecko.”

    And there you all were thinking we’d stick with coming-of-age narratives… 🙂

    I like your comparisons, taking us back to Bombal and Proust. We may perhaps rethink those earlier books in the light of these later texts that we are now reading… another instance of the present changing the past?

    Like

  2. Hi Ruby, nice blog post this week! I also found this reading to be one of the most engaging for me to read. As for the quote you shared, I think that Felix is clarifying that he can’t literally create a past for someone, that’s impossible. His services are limited to imagination and story-telling to help others create a new identity on the surface. But deep down, we are all made of pieces from our past.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started