I am not going to lie I was not expecting for the book to take the turn that it did. I have never read a book or even seen a movie or show where the main character is introduced to be dead. It’s not very common because the main character usually drives the plot and we understand the story through their perspective. What I find interesting about this book is that even though our main character dies, we don’t lose their perspective. I feel like I was almost reading the story differently because I knew the main character was dead and recalling on her past. I shared the feeling of reminiscing on old memories and past conversations.

There was a lot of interesting themes but I want to focus in on the relationship between Ana María and Ricardo.

The depiction of Ana María’s deep love and desire for Ricardo was really interesting. I immediately has the sense that Ana María’s love for him was a lot stronger than his love for her back. I really could see how her love was based off the dependency she had for Ricardo. When Ricardo tells Ana María that he is going to Europe for his studies, Ana María responds with “And I, what am I going to do” (p.165)? Clearly, her life revolved around him and with him gone she felt like she had no purpose. Present Ana María, who is now dead, reflect backs on this moment and thinks “But now, now that I am dead, it occurs to me that possibly all men once in their lifetime long to make some great renunciation; to sacrifice regretfully something vital; to tear to pieces a butterfly; in order to feel themselves masters of their own destiny” (p.166). Ana María obviously resents Ricardo a bit for his decision to leave for school and views it as him tearing apart her life so that he can live his own. This perspective reminds me how some people feel as though they are tied down in their relationship.

Ana María’s love for him was all consuming to the point where she came very close to killing herself because she couldn’t bare to live without him. She describes how all she did was “lived in wait of tears” (p.172). I think Ana María regrets, now that she is dead, the time and emotion wasted being so intertwined with Ricardo. She talks about how she was very young at the time and put up with the torment that he put her through in hopes for a chance that he makes it up to her. Many of us may relate to the feeling of young love, desire, and maybe even obsession with someone. We also might empathize with Ana María over the feeling of anguish or anxiety when we hold on to a love that isn’t good for us. Sometimes you can get “blinded” by love and not realize that it is unhealthy. As time passes we gain perspective to the point where we might regret or even resent ourselves for hanging on to something that wasn’t worth it.

Question: Why do you think that Ana María’s perspective on her relationship with Ricardo has changed now that she is dead and looking back on her past?


Comments

4 responses to “The Shrouded Woman”

  1. “As time passes we gain perspective.”

    Yes, and bringing together the two parts of your blog post… this book is about “perspective” in (at least) these two ways: both how one particular individual sees the world, and also how they see it differently once they are (part) out of the thick of it, or at a distance?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Ruby! I agree that it was really interesting to read a book where the main character is dead, yet we still get to see their perspective as if they are awake. I felt a bit uncomfortable at first, but it definitely adds to the comprehension of the story. I enjoyed reading your analysis of Ana Maria’s relationship with Ricardo and how you connected many aspects of it to relationships we currently see today. I think Ana Maria’s perspective on her relationship with Ricardo changes now that she is dead because she can be honest with herself and carefully reflect on what she’s done in her life, including the time and energy wasted on a man that didn’t strongly love her back.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. toluwalope ayedegbe Avatar
    toluwalope ayedegbe

    Hey Rubi,

    I agree with your observation that the portrayal of Ana María’s intense love and longing for Ricardo was quite fascinating. Ana María’s affection for him seemed to be much stronger than his reciprocal feelings for her right away. For me personally, I can’t see being in a relationship where the two individuals are not equally in love.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree that Ana Maria’s relationship with Ricardo is quite interesting. To answer your question at the end, I think her perspective on the relationship changed after death because she could no longer change things, and so her vision wasn’t affected by desire in the same way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started